ubuntu 12.04 boot with bluetooth turned off

as I do not use a bluetooth enabled device like mouse or keyboard regularly, I did not want my bluetooth on by default. It is a simple thing to turn it off, but to do every time I log in is not worth it.

Here is what worked for me:(from http://blogs.bu.edu/mhirsch/2012/07/disabling-bluetooth-on-startup-ubuntu-12-04/)

Open the following file
sudo gedit /etc/rc.local

Before the exit 0,
add

rfkill block bluetooth

I usually add some comments if I am changing the system setting this way so I know what I have been meddling with.

Leave a Reply

